New Card Designs Unveiled ~ The Empress & Emperor

I am including the duo of cards, the Empress & Emperor, numbers III & IV respectively.  I was really drawn to both of these paintings for different reasons.

First off, the Empress has so much power in this image.  Here I portrayed her as the goddess of health, Hygeia. The Empress is usually viewed as a nurturer, mother, sometimes pregnant and always powerful.  This image spoke to me.

Second, the Emperor as Jupiter (Zeus).  I kept with a more traditional image for this card.  I am really drawn to Moreau’s work and thought this image was perfect.

First off the art, Gustav Klimt & Gustave Moreau, well that’s serendipitous isn’t it?  Just realized that as I was typing.

The Empress ~ Hygeia 1900-1907

The Emperor ~ Jupiter et Semele 1889-1895

Leave a Reply

